All About the Payapa at Masaganang Pamayanan (PAMANA) Program

When it comes to dealing with natural calamities, the Disaster Response Management Bureau (DRMB) of the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) usually takes the lead. When it comes to war and conflict concerns, however, there’s the Payapa at Masaganang Pamayanan program, or simply “PAMANA,” for short.

PAMANA is a national program of the Philippine government, specifically designed for peace and development. It is carried out in conflict-affected areas, along with communities that are covered by existing peace agreements. In this article, we will talk more about the program — its objectives, benefits, and activities involved.

All About the Payapa at Masaganang Pamayanan (PAMANA) Program
Image Credit: Payapa at Masaganang Pamayanan (PAMANA) / Facebook

What is the PAMANA Program?

The Payapa at Masaganang Pamayanan (PAMANA) is the flagship program of the national government when it comes to peace and development. It is focused on peace-building, rehabilitation, reconstruction, and development in areas that are affected by (or vulnerable to) conflict.

Established in 2011, the PAMANA program is included in Chapter 9 of Peace and Security of the Philippine Development Plan for 2011-2016. Primarily, it involves the DSWD and the Office of the Presidential Advisor on the Peace Process (OPAPP), which is the government agency in charge of overseeing and implementing a comprehensive peace process.

In addition, the program also involves other national government agencies, local government units (LGUs), civil society organizations, and other partners.

Objectives of the Program

Based on the DSWD website, the PAMANA program has three main objectives, as follows:

  1. To improve governance through partnerships with national and local institutions, building capacities for governance, and enhancement of transparency and accountability mechanisms;
  2. To reduce poverty and vulnerability in conflict-affected areas through sustainable rural development, community infrastructure, and focused delivery of social services; and
  3. To empower communities and strengthen their capacity to address issues of conflict and peace through activities that promote social cohesion.

The PAMANA Framework

The PAMANA framework is built on three “pillars:” laying the foundation, delivery of services, and connecting to other communities. Let’s take a closer look at each one:

  • Pillar 1: Laying the Foundation (National Level). This refers to policy reforms that establish the foundation of peace.
  • Pillar 2: Delivery of Services (Community Level). This promotes the convergent delivery of services and goods focused on households and communities.
  • Pillar 3: Connecting to Other Communities (Regional and Sub-Regional Level). This “pillar” links conflict-affected areas to markets and promotes job generation in the provincial or municipal government.
All About the Payapa at Masaganang Pamayanan (PAMANA) Program
Image Credit: Payapa at Masaganang Pamayanan (PAMANA) / Facebook

Program-Covered Areas

As of 2011 to 2016, the PAMANA program addressed conflict-affected areas, vulnerable communities, and peace agreement zones in the following areas:

  1. Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR)
  2. Bicol-Quezon-Mindoro Corridor
  3. Negros Island
  4. Samar Island
  5. CARAGA-Davao-Compostela Valley Corridor
  6. Central Mindanao (Region X, XII, and mainland ARMM)
  7. Zamboanga, Basilan, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi (ZamBaSulTa)

Within these areas, there are five “conflict” lines across three main categories that determine zone selection and prioritization for the PAMANA program:

Closure/Peace Agreement Areas: 

  • Cordillera Bodong Administration-Cordillera People’s Liberation Army (CBA-CPLA); and
  • Rebolusyong Partido ng Manggagawa ng Pilipinas/Revolutionary Proletariat Army/Alex Boncayao Brigade (RPMP/RPA/ABB or RRA).

Areas Affected by the Communist Party of the Philippines/New People’s Army/National Democratic Front (CPP/NPA/NDF or CNN):

  • Conflict-affected areas with more than 50% influenced barangays will be used to determine CNN PAMANA provinces. Priority is also given to municipalities with below 50% conflict affectation, but are still threatened by these three parties.

Areas Affected by Moro Fronts:

  • MNLF Peace and Development Communities (PDCs) identified through security forces; and
  • Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) areas covered by agreements on cessation of hostilities, rehabilitation, and socio-economic development.

What are the Program’s Benefits?

The PAMANA program benefits conflict-affected areas through: community development projects, community grants, and training on peace and conflict resolution.

  • Community Development. This includes the building of infrastructures such as farm-to-market roads and water supply systems in the community.
  • Community Grant. The Peacebuilding and Development Fund (PDF) shall distribute PHP 300,000 to constituents of conflicts-affected barangays. These funds shall be used for community-based peace-building projects identified by the PAMANA constituents themselves.
  • Training on Peace and Conflict Resolution. The OPAPP will provide training on Peace and Conflict-Sensitive Programming (PCSP).

Video: PAMANA Program

Check out this video about the PAMANA program, as shared by DSWD X – Northern Mindanao. The video describes PAMANA as a program that supports the Peace and Development agenda of former president Rodrigo Duterte:

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Meanwhile, here are some commonly asked questions about the PAMANA program:

1. What is the PAMANA program?

The PAMANA program is the flagship program of the Philippine government with regards to peace and development. It was established in 2011.

2. What are the objectives of the program?

Generally speaking, the main objectives of the PAMANA program are: to improve governance; to reduce poverty and vulnerability; and to empower communities in conflict-affected areas.

3. What is the PAMANA framework?

The PAMANA framework is build on three major pillars: (a) laying the foundation (national level); (b) delivery of services (community level); and (c) connecting with other communities (regional and sub-regional level).

4. What are the areas covered by the program?

As of 2011 to 2016, the program focused on these areas: Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR); Bicol-Quezon-Mindoro Corridor; Negros Island; Samar Island; CARAGA-Davao-Compostela Valley Corridor; Central Mindanao (Region X, XII, and mainland ARMM); and Zamboanga, Basilan, Sulu, and Tawi-Tawi (ZamBaSulTa).

5. What are the benefits of the program?

Areas that are covered by the program can expect to receive community development projects, community grants, and training on peace and conflict resolution.

6. How can I learn more about the program?

For more information about the PAMANA program, please visit the nearest DSWD office in your area.

Contact Information: DSWD Central Office

If you are based in the National Capital Region (NCR) and you’d like to know more about the PAMANA program, you can contact the DSWD Central office through the following details:

Address: Batasang Pambansa Complex, Constitution Hills, Quezon City, Philippines, 1126
Telephone: (02) 8931 8101 to 07

Google Map:

NOTE: In addition to the DSWD Central Office in Quezon City, the department has Field Offices all over the Philippines. Head to this link to see the directory of DSWD’s Field Offices nationwide.

Final Thoughts

Today, there are some areas of the country that are still affected by conflict. Fortunately, programs such as PAMANA are there to help promote peace, conflict resolution, and development in these areas.

Notably, the DSWD also has programs for Filipinos abroad. Read this article for more details about the department’s International Social Welfare Services for Filipino Nationals (ISWSFN) Program.